Skip to Content
2019 long list

Announcing the 2019 First Novel Prize Long List

We are pleased to announce the Long List for the 2019 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. The 2019 Short List will be announced in September and the winner will be announced in December at The Center for Fiction’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner.

The Affairs of the Falcóns by Melissa Rivero (Ecco)

American Spy by Lauren Wilkinson (Random House)

Bangkok Wakes to Rain by Pitchaya Sudbanthad (Riverhead Books)

The Bobcat by Katherine Forbes Riley (Arcade)

The Dearly Beloved by Cara Wall (Simon & Schuster)

Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips (Knopf)

The Falconer by Dana Czapnik (Atria Books)

Fall Back Down When I Die by Joe Wilkins (Little, Brown & Company)

The Farm by Joanne Ramos (Random House)

Goodnight Stranger by Miciah Bay Gault (Park Row)

The History of Living Forever by Jake Wolff (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

In West Mills by De’Shawn Charles Winslow (Bloomsbury)

The Gone Dead by Chanelle Benz (Ecco)

The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo (Doubleday)

The Old Drift by Namwali Serpell (Hogarth)

On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong (Penguin Press)

Oval by Elvia Wilk (Soft Skull Press)

The Paper Wasp by Lauren Acampora (Grove Press)

A Particular Kind of Black Man by Tope Folarin (Simon & Schuster)

A Prayer for Travelers by Ruchika Tomar (Riverhead)

A People’s History of Heaven by Mathangi Subramanian (Algonquin)

Riots I Have Known by Ryan Chapman (Simon & Schuster)

Tears of the Trufflepig by Fernando A. Flores (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

Tinfoil Butterfly by Rachel Eve Moulton (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

The Unpassing by Chia-Chia Lin (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates (One World/Random House)

We Cast a Shadow by Maurice Carlos Ruffin (One World/Random House)