Skip to Content
fnp winners

The First Novel Prize

The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, first awarded in 2006, was created to honor the best debut fiction of the year. The winner receives a $15,000 prize with each shortlisted author receiving $1,000. In these particularly challenging times, we are enormously grateful to a generous donor who has made it possible to increase this year’s prize from the previous amount of $10,000 in order to be more supportive of talented emerging writers. The winner is announced in December at our Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner.

Review the 2020 eligibility requirements, learn about the selection process, and more.

Questions about the First Novel Prize?

De'Shawn Charles Winslow WINS THE 2019 FIRST NOVEL PRIZE

De’Shawn Charles Winslow is the 2019 winner of our First Novel Prize for In West Mills (Bloomsbury). Monique Truong presented the award to Winslow on Tuesday, December 10, at our Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner.