Skip to Content

The First Novel Prize

2018 First Novel Prize

The Center for Fiction

The 2018 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize was awarded to Tommy Orange for his debut novel There There (Alfred A. Knopf). Read about There There below, along with 2018’s shortlisted and longlisted titles.

This annual award was created in 2006 to honor the best first novel of the year. Debut novels published between January 1 and December 31 of the award year are eligible.