Skip to Content

First Novel Prize

2023 First Novel Prize

The Center for Fiction

The Center for Fiction 2023 First Novel Prize was awarded to Tyriek White for his debut novel We Are a Haunting (Astra House). The award was announced at The Center for Fiction Annual Awards Benefit on December 5, 2023. Ayana Mathis presented White with the award, which was selected by a panel of distinguished American writers: Hannah Lillith Assadi, Ayana Mathis, Tochi Onyebuchi, and Deesha Philyaw. Read about We Are a Haunting and the shortlisted and longlisted titles from 2023 below.

Read interviews with each of the shortlisted authors.