Skip to Content

First Novel Prize

2022 First Novel Prize

The Center for Fiction

The Center for Fiction 2022 First Novel Prize was awarded to Noor Naga for her debut novel If an Egyptian Cannot Speak English (Graywolf Press). The award was announced at The Center for Fiction Annual Awards Benefit on December 6, 2022. Rebecca Makkai presented Naga with the award, which was selected by a panel of distinguished American writers: Matt Bell, Nicole Dennis-Benn, Megha Majumdar, Rebecca Makkai, and Chigozie Obioma. Read about If an Egyptian Cannot Speak English and the shortlisted and longlisted titles from 2022 below.

Read interviews with each of the shortlisted authors.