Skip to Content

2010 First Novel Prize

The Center for Fiction

The Center for Fiction 2010 First Novel Prize (then called the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize) was awarded to Karl Marlantes for his debut novel Matterhorn (Atlantic Monthly Press with El León Literary Arts). Read about Matterhorn below and browse 2010’s shortlisted titles.

This annual award was created in 2006 to honor the best first novel of the year. Debut novels published between January 1 and December 31 of the award year are eligible. The winner is announced in December at our Annual Awards Benefit.


  • Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes (Atlantic Monthly Press with El León Literary Arts)


  • Beneath the Lion’s Gaze by Maaza Mengiste (W.W. Norton)
  • The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer (Alfred A. Knopf)
  • Mr. Peanut by Adam Ross (Alfred A. Knopf)
  • The Quickening by Michelle Hoover (Other Press)
  • The Report by Jessica Francis Kane (Graywolf Press)
  • This is Just Exactly Like You by Drew Perry (Viking)