Skip to Content

2011 First Novel Prize

The Center for Fiction

The Center for Fiction 2011 First Novel Prize (then called the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize) was awarded to Bonnie Nadzam for her debut novel Lamb (Other Press). Read about Lamb below and browse 2011’s shortlisted titles.

This annual award was created in 2006 to honor the best first novel of the year. Debut novels published between January 1 and December 31 of the award year are eligible. The winner is announced in December at our Annual Awards Benefit.


  • Lamb by Bonnie Nadzam (Other Press)


  • Caribou Island by David Vann (HarperCollins)
  • Daughters of the Revolution by Carolyn Cooke (Alfred A. Knopf)
  • The History of History by Ida Hattemer-Higgins (Alfred A. Knopf)
  • Shards by Ismet Prcic (Black Cat, Grove/Atlantic, Inc.)
  • The Sweet Relief of Missing Children by Sarah Braunstein (W. W. Norton & Company)
  • Touch by Alexi Zentner (W. W. Norton & Company)