Skip to Content

The Center for Fiction Presents: Jill Bialosky on The Deceptions with Lan Samantha Chang

This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.

Tuesday, 7:00 pm EDT September 13, 2022

Online Only

This event will now take place exclusively online.

We are thrilled to welcome a powerhouse of contemporary American writing, celebrated author and editor Jill Bialosky, for a conversation on her new novel, The Deceptions. With six poetry collections, three novels, and two memoirs already to her name, it’s no wonder that The Deceptions is a celebration of the blurred lines between genre, joining art, myth, beautiful poetics, and exhilarating plot to create an explosive and provocative exploration of female sexuality and ambition.

Join Jill Bialosky in conversation with novelist Lan Samantha Chang (The Family Chao) for a discussion of the craft, imagination, intellect, and experience necessary to engage readers.

9781640090248 - Claire Fennell

In Conversation

  • Jill Bialosky by Beowulf Sheehan

    Jill Bialosky

    Jill Bialosky

    Jill Bialosky is the author of six acclaimed collections of poetry, three critically acclaimed novels, and two memoirs, including History of a Suicide: My Sister’s Unfinished Life, a New York Times bestseller. Her poems and essays have appeared in The Best American Poetry; the New Yorker; the Atlantic; Harper’s magazine; O, The Oprah Magazine; the Kenyon Review; Harvard Review; and the Paris Review, among other publications. She is executive editor and vice president at W. W. Norton & Company. Her work has been a finalist for the James Laughlin Award, the Paterson Poetry Prize, and the Books for a Better Life Awards. In 2014, she was honored by the Poetry Society of America for her distinguished contribution to poetry. She lives in New York City.

    Photo Credit: Beowulf Sheehan

  • Lan Samantha Chang (c) Ife Oluwa Nihinlola - Eliana Cohen-Orth

    Lan Samantha Chang

    Lan Samantha Chang

    Lan Samantha Chang is the author of The Family Chao. Her other works include the award-winning Hunger: A Novella and Stories and the novels Inheritance and All Is Forgotten, Nothing Is Lost. A recent Berlin Prize winner, she is the recipient of fellowships from the Radcliffe Institute, the NEA, and the Guggenheim Fellowship. She is the director of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.