Skip to Content

The Art of the Short Story: Small Odysseys with Jai Chakrabarti, A. M. Homes, Hannah Tinti, and Weike Wang

This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.

Thursday, 7:00 pm EDT March 17, 2022

Online via Zoom & at
The Center for Fiction*

In-person* tickets include a $10 bookstore voucher, redeemable toward the featured event book on the night of the event. All registrants will receive a link to livestream the event.

A glowing collection of new stories from up-and-coming voices and celebrated authors alike, Small Odysseys celebrates the latest gems of contemporary short fiction. Striking and joyful, the collection elucidates the character of the current literary landscape while featuring the voices of thirty-five luminaries testing the limits of the form. Small Odysseys is a celebration of the exhilarating diversity of modern short stories. This event is a must-see for any contemporary short story lover.

Join editor Hannah Tinti and contributors Jai Chakrabarti, A. M. Homes, and Weike Wang as they discuss this thrilling and impactful collection of works.

*Proof of vaccination is required to attend this event in person. Mask wearing is also required throughout the building. Accepted vaccination proofs include:

  • CDC vaccination card
  • Excelsior pass
  • a record of vaccination from the healthcare provider who administered your vaccine

If you remain unvaccinated because of a disability or sincerely held religious belief, please contact us at for assistance or to request a reasonable accommodation.

smallodysseys - Claire Fennell

In Conversation

  • Chakrabarti, Jai - Claire Fennell

    Jai Chakrabarti

    Jai Chakrabarti

    Jai Chakrabarti is the author of the novel A Play for the End of the World (Knopf), which won the National Jewish Book Award for debut fiction, is long-listed for the PEN/Faulkner Award and was a fall 2021 Oprah Magazine Pick. He is also the author of the forthcoming story collection A Small Sacrifice for an Enormous Happiness (Knopf, 2023). His short fiction has appeared in numerous journals and has been anthologized in The O. Henry Prize Stories, The Best American Short Stories, and awarded a Pushcart Prize and also performed on Selected Shorts by Symphony Space. His nonfiction has been published in the Wall Street Journal, Fast Company, Writer’s Digest, Berfrois, and LitHub. He was an Emerging Writer Fellow with A Public Space and received an MFA in Creative Writing from Brooklyn College and is a trained computer scientist. Born in Kolkata, India, he now lives in New York with his family.

  • Homes, AM-credit-Marion-Ettlinger - Claire Fennell

    A. M. Homes

    A. M. Homes

    A. M. Homes is the author of the novels Jack, In a County of Mothers, The End of Alice, Music for Torching, This Book Will Save Your Life, and May We Be Forgiven, winner of the Orange/ Women’s Prize for Fiction. Homes is also the author of the memoir The Mistress’s Daughter and the short-story collections The Safety of Objects, Things You Should Know, and Days of Awe. She teaches in the Program in Creative Writing at Princeton.

    Photo Credit: Marion Ettlinger

  • Hannah-Tinti-(c)-Honorah-Tinti_2MB - Claire Fennell

    Hannah Tinti

    Hannah Tinti

    Hannah Tinti is the author of the bestselling novel The Good Thief, which won The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, and the story collection Animal Crackers, a runner-up for the PEN/Hemingway Award. Her novel The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley was a national bestseller, finalist for the Edgar Award and New England Book Award for Best Novel of the Year, and has been optioned for television. Tinti is also the co-founder and executive editor of One Story magazine, which won the AWP Small Press Publisher Award, CLMP’s Firecracker Award, and the PEN/Nora Magid Award for Excellence in Editing. She teaches creative writing at New York University’s MFA program, cofounded the Sirenland Writers Conference, and from 2010–2013 was the literary commentator on Selected Shorts.

    Photo Credit: Honorah Tinti

  • Wang, Weike - Claire Fennell

    Weike Wang

    Weike Wang

    Weike Wang is the author of the novel Chemistry. Her work has appeared in Glimmer Train, Kenyon Review, Ploughshares, Alaska Quarterly Review, Redivider, and the New Yorker, among other publications, and her fiction has been anthologized in The Best American Short Stories and The O. Henry Prize Stories. She is the recipient of the 2018 Pen/Hemingway Award, a Whiting Award, and a National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 Prize.