Announcing our 2018
First Novel Prize Short List!


We are pleased to announce the short list for the 2018 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, which was chosen from the 26-title long list by a panel of five distinguished writers: Jeffery Renard Allen, Katie Kitamura, Rachel Kushner, Dana Spiotta, and Julie Lekstrom Himes, who won the 2017 First Novel Prize for her book Mikhail and Margarita (Europa Editions). View our short list


This annual award was created in 2006 to honor the best first novel of the year. Debut novels published between January 1 and December 31, 2018 were eligible for this year's prize. The winner receives a $10,000 prize with each shortlisted author receiving $1,000. The winner will be announced at The Center for Fiction’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner held on December 11th this year.  


Previous winners include Kia Corthron (The Castle Cross the Magnet Carter), Viet Thanh Nguyen (The Sympathizer), Ben Fountain (Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk), Hannah Tinti (The Good Thief) and Junot Díaz (The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao). 

Congrats to 2017 First Novel Prize Winner 

Julie Lekstrom Himes for Mikhail and Margarita


Julie Lekstrom Himes was awarded the Center for Fiction's 2017 First Novel Prize for her debut novel, Mikhail and Margarita (Europa Editions). Last year's winner, Kia Corthron (The Castle Cross the Magnet Carter), presented the award to her at our Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner on Tuesday, December 5th at The Metropolitan Club. 


Newsweek called Mikhail and Margarita “an incredibly important read in an era of uncertainty and populism across the globe, but it’s also entertainment in its purest form as it draws the reader in through the emotional resonance of love and loss while retaining a sense of ‘it could happen to you.’” read more about our 2017 winner

Previous Award Winners


Kia Corthron was our 2016 award recipient for her novel The Castle Cross the Magnet Carter (Seven Stories Press). Previous winners include Marisha Pessl for Special Topics in Calamity Physics (Viking), Junot Díaz for The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Riverhead/Penguin), Hannah Tinti for The Good Thief (The Dial Press), John Pipkin for Woodsburner (Doubleday/Nan A. Talese), Karl Marlantes for Matterhorn (Atlantic Monthly Press with El León Literary Arts), Bonnie Nadzam for Lamb (Other Press), Ben Fountain for Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (Ecco/HarperCollins), Margaret Wrinkle for Wash (Atlantic Monthly Press), Tiphanie Yanique for Land of Love and Drowning (Riverhead Books), and Viet Thanh Nguyen for The Sympathizer (Grove Press). For a closer look visit PREVIOUS WINNERS PAGE