Skip to Content

Watch The Center for Fiction 2020 Annual Awards Benefit

Yvonne Orji emceed our Annual Awards Benefit, which took place virtually on December 3rd, 2020. Ta-Nehisi Coates presented Chris Jackson with The Center for Fiction Medal for Editorial Excellence. Ethan Hawke presented The Center for Fiction On Screen Award to James McBride and SHOWTIME for “The Good Lord Bird.” Vinnie Malhotra, Executive Vice President, Nonfiction Programming, accepted the award on behalf of SHOWTIME. De’Shawn Charles Winslow announced the 2020 First Novel Prize winner, Raven Leilani for Luster. The Benefit also featured a performance by Laura Benanti and an appearance by Raúl Esparza.