Skip to Content
Cropped: 2018 Center for FIction Awards

Medal for Editorial Excellence

The Center for Fiction Medal for Editorial Excellence honors the work of an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of his or her career has discovered, nurtured and championed writers of fiction in the United States.

The final selection is made by a panel of publishing professionals convened by The Center. The award is intended to provide a means by which the literary world can each year acknowledge the critical role played by agents, editors, and publishers and reward their outstanding work.

2020 AWARD RECIPIENT: Chris Jackson

Publisher and Editor-in-Chief Chris Jackson of One World, an imprint of Penguin Random House, is the recipient of the 2020 Center for Fiction Medal for Editorial Excellence, presented by Ta-Nehisi Coates, National Book Award and MacArthur Fellowship-winning author of the best sellers Between the World and Me and the widely acclaimed debut novel The Water Dancer. Jackson is the editor of award-winning and bestselling authors, including Coates, Jordy Rosenberg, Kali Fajardo-Astine, Maurice Carlos Ruffin, Victor LaValle, Bryan Stevenson, Jill Leovy, Trevor Noah, Nikole Hannah-Jones, Ibram X. Kendi, Valarie Kaur, and Eddie Huang.

Past Recipients

Learn about Lynn Nesbit, Sonny Mehta, Morgan Entrekin, Eric Simonoff, Daniel Halpern, Nicole Aragi, and other previous recipients of this award.