Skip to Content

The Art of the Short Story: Dantiel W. Moniz and Jamel Brinkley


Thursday, 7:30 pm EST February 18, 2021

Online via Zoom

Writers Dantiel W. Moniz and Jamel Brinkley will discuss the art of writing the short story and Moniz’s debut collection of short stories Milk Blood Heat. In the stories, Moniz delves into the ordinary lives of characters who find themselves in moments of self-reckoning, grappling with traumas past and present. Milk Blood Heat, on sale February 2, 2021, announces Moniz as a bright new talent to the literary world.

Brinkley is a celebrated writer, whose most recent collection of short stories, A Lucky Man, was a 2018 finalist for the National Book Award in Fiction and earned the Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence in 2018.

Thank you for supporting our nonprofit-run indie bookstore! Your purchase will help support our KidsRead programs for NYC Public Schools, Emerging Writer Fellowships, and public programming. Books purchased for events will begin shipping out the day after the event, unless otherwise noted. Please allow 1-3 weeks for your book(s) to arrive. Thank you for your patience.

If you have any questions about a shipment, send a note to our bookstore staff at

MilkBloodHeat_FINAL - Zach Cihlar

In Conversation

  • Dantiel Moniz_cr_Marissa Pilolli - Zach Cihlar

    Dantiel W. Moniz

    Dantiel W. Moniz

    Dantiel W. Moniz is the recipient of the Alice Hoffman Prize for Fiction, the Cecelia Joyce Johnson Emerging Writer Award by the Key West Literary Seminars, and a Tin House Scholarship. Her fiction has appeared in Tin House, Ploughshares, the Yale Review, Joyland, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, and elsewhere. Milk Blood Heat is her first book. She lives in Northeast Florida.

  • jbb author photo - Zach Cihlar

    Jamel Brinkley

    Jamel Brinkley

    Jamel Brinkley is the author of A Lucky Man: Stories (2018), a finalist for the National Book Award, the Story Prize, the John Leonard Prize, the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, and the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award; and winner of a PEN Oakland Award and the Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence. His writing has appeared in A Public Space, the Paris Review, Ploughshares, Gulf Coast, the Threepenny Review, Glimmer Train, American Short Fiction, the Believer, and Tin House, and has been anthologized twice in The Best American Short Stories. His work has also received support from Kimbilio Fiction, the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop, the Napa Valley Writers’ Conference, the Tin House Summer Workshop, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Lannan Foundation. He was the 2016-2017 Carol Houck Smith Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing and a 2018-2020 Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University. Raised in Brooklyn and the Bronx, he teaches at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.