Skip to Content

Patricia Highsmith: The Ripley Novels with Dwyer Murphy


5 sessions

Thursdays, 6:00 pm-7:30 pm October 3 to December 12, 2019

Meeting Dates: 10/3, 10/17, 11/ 7, 11/21, 12/12

This reading group will explore the novels of Patricia Highsmith and of her most iconic creation, Tom Ripley. The so-called “Ripliad”—five books written by Ms. Highsmith between the early 1950s and 1991, all featuring Ripley, the charming con man, imposter, and killer—represents a high-water mark for the literary thriller and one of the most fascinating and complex psychological portraits ever captured in fiction. Over the course of five sessions, we will explore the fraught world of Ripley, traveling from city to city, culture to culture, and analyzing the character’s moral dilemmas, as well as the author’s art. The texts for this group are The Talented Mr. Ripley (1955), Ripley Under Ground (1970), Ripley’s Game (1974), The Boy Who Followed Ripley (1980), and Ripley Under Water (1991). These books established Ms. Highsmith as one of the most influential authors of the century, and Ripley as one of its most memorable protagonists.

Participants should read The Talented Mr. Ripley before the first meeting.

Patricia Highsmith

Led by

  • Dwyer Murphy

    Dwyer Murphy

    Dwyer Murphy

    Dwyer Murphy is the Editor of CrimeReads, the world’s premiere culture site dedicated to thrillers, mystery, and crime fiction, and a senior editor at Literary Hub. His fiction and nonfiction has appeared in numerous publications, including The Common, The Paris Review, and Literary Hub. He was an Emerging Writer Fellow at The Center for Fiction. Before his career in publishing, he was an attorney specializing in media and international law.