Skip to Content

Lynn Nesbit: Recipient of the Maxwell E. Perkins Award

The Center for Fiction is pleased to announce that literary agent Lynn Nesbit, co-founder of Janklow & Nesbit Associates, is the recipient of its 2019 Maxwell E. Perkins Award.

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Andrew Sean Greer presented the award to Nesbit at The Center’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner in New York City on December 10, 2019.

The Maxwell E. Perkins Award recognizes an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of his or her career has discovered, nurtured, and championed writers of fiction in the United States. It is named for Maxwell E. Perkins, of Scribner, one of the most important and admired editors in American literary history.

2019 Perkins Award-winner Lynn Nesbit is an esteemed literary agent with a career that has spanned over forty years. Before forming Janklow & Nesbit Associates with fellow agent Morton Janklow in 1989, she created and developed the first literary department at International Creative Management (ICM). She has represented Toni Morrison, Hunter S. Thompson, Joan Didion, Michael Crichton, Deborah Eisenberg, Roxana Robinson, Darryl Pinckney, André Aciman, Andrew Sean Greer, President Jimmy Carter, Jeffrey Eugenides, Anne Rice, Robert A. Caro, Tom Wolfe, Ann Beattie, Maaza Mengiste, Jayne Anne Phillips, among others.

More About Lynn Nesbit


More About Lynn Nesbit

Lynn Nesbit grew up in Dundee, Illinois and graduated from Northwestern University with a B.A. in Speech. She attended the Sorbonne and the Radcliffe Publishing Procedures Course. In the fall of 1960, she joined the Sterling Lord Agency, and in 1965 moved to create and run for twenty-three years the literary department for what later became International Creative Management. In January 1989, she co-founded Janklow & Nesbit Associates with Morton Janklow.

Ms. Nesbit has served on the Board of Trustees of Partisan Review, the New York Institute for Humanities and the Literature Council for the National Endowment for the Arts. She is currently on the Board of the National Book Foundation and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

In 1991, she was a recipient of the Matrix Award, presented by New York Women in Communications, Inc. She received the Alumnae Award of 1994 from the Alumnae Board of Northwestern University. Recently, she and Mr. Janklow were awarded the 2013 NYC Literary Honors Award for Literary Life, which celebrates the role of the publishing industry in New York City’s cultural life and economy.

Lynn Nesbit represents both fiction and nonfiction writers.