Skip to Content
Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, On Screen Award, and Maxwell E. Perkins Award

Annual Awards and Benefit Dinner


De’Shawn Charles Winslow is the 2019 winner of our First Novel Prize for In West Mills (Bloomsbury). Monique Truong presented the award to Winslow on Tuesday, December 10, at our Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner.

Announcing the 2019 Awards Honorees

The Center for Fiction has announced a stellar lineup of 2019 honorees who will receive awards at the Center’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner in New York City on December 10, 2019.

Literary agent Lynn Nesbit, co-founder of Janklow & Nesbit Associates, is the recipient of its 2019 Maxwell E. Perkins Award, to be presented by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Andrew Sean Greer. Author Margaret Atwood; Craig Erwich, Hulu’s Senior Vice President of Originals; and Bruce Miller, creator and showrunner of “The Handmaid’s Tale” on Hulu, will receive the Center’s inaugural On Screen Award, which honors the groundbreaking creation of original series that mirror the complexity and vision of great novels.

At the dinner, the recipient of the Center for Fiction 2019 First Novel Prize will also be announced.

Read the Full Press Release

Save the Date

Our 2019 Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner will be held on Tuesday, December 10th at The Cunard Building, 25 Cipriani Broadway. We will present the inaugural Center for Fiction On Screen Award, the Maxwell E. Perkins Awards, and the First Novel Prize.

Thank you to all those who attended our 2018 Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner on December 11 at The Cunard Building, with co-chairs Lee Child and Michael Ondaatje. At the event we honored Toni Morrison for a lifetime of excellence in fiction, with remarks by Oprah WinfreyCarl Hiaasen presented Sonny Mehta with the 2018 Maxwell E. Perkins Award, and Julie Lekstrom Himes presented the 2018 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize to Tommy Orange for his debut novel, There There (Knopf).

2018 Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner

Benefit Committee

  • ABRAMS/The Overlook Press

  • Clare Alexander

  • Amazon Literary Partnership

  • Anonymous

  • Nicole Aragi

  • Audible

  • Baker Literary Scouting

  • Gabrielle Bamberger

  • Julie Barer & Colson Whitehead

  • Victoria Barnsley

  • Elizabeth Birkelund

  • BKSK Architects

  • Bloomsbury Publishing

  • Albert Bonnier

  • Book of the Month

  • Leonello Brandolini d'Adda

  • Maria & Woody Campbell

  • Lee Child

  • Dr. Nikki Elliot & Dr. Valorie Thomas

  • Ashley Farrish

  • Fletcher & Company

  • Mark Fowler & Jessica Kaplan

  • The Gernert Company

  • Wendy Gimbel & Douglas Leibhafsky

  • Lynn Goldberg

  • Nan Graham

  • Grove/Atlantic

  • Leigh Haber/ O The Oprah Magazine

  • Hachette Book Group

  • HarperCollins Publishers

  • Elizabeth Hawes & Davis Weinstock

  • International Creative Management

  • Tracey Jackson & Glenn Horowitz

  • Abigail Latour

  • Susanna Lea

  • Nikarah Long

  • Macmillan Publishers

  • James C. Marlas & Marie Nugent-Head Marlas

  • Bahiyyah Maroon

  • Anne McDermid

  • Celia & Henry McGee

  • Susan Moldow

  • Calvert Morgan Jr. & Cassie Jones Morgan

  • Bonnie Nadzam

  • Sara Nelson

  • Netflix

  • Penguin Random House

  • Susanna Porter & James Clark

  • Jonathan Rose Companies

  • Ted & Mary Jo Shen

  • Simon & Schuster

  • Stephanie Thayer

  • Amanda Urban

  • John & Amy Weinberg

  • Writers House