Skip to Content

CFA Master Class: Susan Isaacs on the Craft of Fiction with Jonathan Santlofer


Admission and $10 off at our bookstore.

October 18, 2019 Friday, 7:00 pm

Fellow crime writer Jonathan Santlofer will lead a conversation on Susan Isaacs’s work—including her new novel Takes One To Know One—with a particular focus on craft.

  • Isaacs, Susan author photo credit Linda Nutter - Carla Cain-Walther

    Susan Isaacs

    Susan Isaacs

    Susan Isaacs is the author of thirteen novels, including As Husbands Go, Long Time No See, Any Place I Hang My Hat, and Compromising Positions. A recipient of the Writers for Writers Award and the John Steinbeck Award, Isaacs serves as chairman of the board of Poets & Writers, and is a past president of Mystery Writers of America. Her fiction has been translated into thirty languages. She lives on Long Island with her husband.

  • jonathan_santlofer-2

    Jonathan Santlofer

    Jonathan Santlofer

    Jonathan Santlofer is the author of 5 novels, The Death Artist, Color Blind, The Killing Art, The Murder Notebook, and Anatomy of Fear, which won the Nero Wolfe Award for best crime novel of 2009. He is co-editor, contributor and illustrator of the short story anthology, The Dark End of the Street, and the recent editor of and contributor to LA NOIRE: The Collected Stories. His short stories appear in numerous collections, including The Rich and the Dead, edited by Nelson DeMille, and the forthcoming New Jersey Noir, edited by Joyce Carol Oates. He serves on the boards of the Mystery Writers of America and the International Crime Writers of North America. He currently teaches Crime Fiction Writing in Pratt Institute’s Creative Writing program and has taught at Columbia University and The New School. Santlofer is also a visual artist and is the recipient of two National Endowment for the Arts grants, has been a Visiting Artist at the American Academy In Rome, the Vermont Studio Center and has served on the board of Yaddo.