Book Recommendations

New books by past shortlisted authors

Take a look at what the winners and finalists for our First Novel Prize have been up to.


Nathan Englander


Shortlisted in 2007 for The Ministry of Special Cases, Englander's new book New American Haggadah is written in collaboration with Jonathan Safran Foer and was released in March 2014.





Patrick Flanery


Shortlisted in 2012 for Absolution, Patrick Flanery's novel Fallen Land came out in 2013.





Rivka Galchen


Shortlisted in 2008 for Atmospheric Disturbances, Rivka Galchen's story collection American Innovations came out May 2014.





Austin Grossman


Shortlisted for Soon I Will Be Invincible in 2007, Austin Grossman's Crooked came out in July 2015.




Peter Heller


Shortlisted in 2012 for The Dog Stars, Heller's The Painter was released in June 2014.





Yiyun Li


Shortlisted in 2009 for The Vagrants, Yiyun Li's novel Kinder Than Solitude was released in Februrary 2014.





Peter Manseau


Shortlisted for Songs for the Butcher's DaughterManseau's One Nation, Under Gods was released in January 2015.





Anthony Marra


Shortlisted for A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Anthony Marra's short story collection The Tsar of Love and Techno will be out in October of this year. 





Peter Orner


Shortlisted in 2006 for The Second Coming of Mayala Shikongo, Peter Orner's book Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge was released in August 2014.





Drew Perry


Shortlisted in 2010 for This is Just Exactly Like You, Drew Perry's novel Kids These Days was released in January 2014.





Kevin Powers


Shortlisted in 2012 for The Yellow Birds, Kevin Powers released a collection of poems in April 2014 titled Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting.





Maggie Shipstead


Shortlisted in 2012 for Seating Arrangements, Maggie Shipstead's novel Astonish Me was released in April 2014.





David Vann


Shortlisted in 2011 for Caribou Island, David Vann has published several books including most recently Aquarium. 

G. Willow Wilson


Shortlisted for her 2012 novel Alif the Unseen, G. Willow Wilson is writing the bestselling, and multi-Eisner award nominated series Ms. Marvel.

Alexi Zentner


Shortlisted in 2011 for Touch, Alexi Zentner's novel The Lobster Kings was published in May of 2014.