The Center invites book and music lovers to listen between the lines in our concert series, Notes on Fiction, which features some of the most exciting musicians on the New York classical music scene, including pianist Walter Aparicio, soprano Amanda Hick, and flutist Yoobin Whang. With a thoughtfully curated, fiction-inspired program, each concert captures the spirit of a book in sound and features short readings of passages that inspired the musical program. Performances are followed by a wine reception, where the audience can mingle with the musicians.




Notes on Fiction: Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said

Friday March 28, 2014
07:30 pm

Tags: Event









Ensembles Sideband and Spirograph Agnew put on a musical and visual performance, based on Philip K. Dick's Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said. This event was part of our Notes on Fiction concert series. 


$12 Members

$15 General Admission


"After all, it is we who adapt to the machine. The machine does not adapt to us." 

- Friedrich Kittler


"For everyone lost in the endlessly multiplication realities of the modern world, remember: Philip K Dick got there first" - Terry Gilliam


Technology races ahead of human comprehension, escalating itself by its own codes, out of our control, to be used against us. This creeping paranoia is one of the dominant themes in the work of Philip K Dick. In book after book, his protagonists see their memories, their rational faculties, their very senses of self decimated and replaced by synthetic constructions. Dick's work bypasses the technologies themselves, revealing instead how they ultimately affect a society's and individual's ability to function. In today's world of big data tracking your every click, smart phones broadcasting your location, and companies battling to build a structure around your needs and wants, Dick's visions of the future have never seemed more relevant. 


When computers are allowed into the concert hall, the line between the real and the invented becomes blurred. Which of our senses is most reliable? How are our senses manipulated without our knowledge? Who created the system, and whose interest does it serve? 


About Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said

Jason Taverner is a Six, the product of top secret government experiments forty years earlier which produced a handful of unnaturally bright and beautiful people. He is also a TV star, the prime-time idol of millions…until, inexplicably, all record of him disappears from the data banks. Now he is a man with no identity, in a police state where everybody's records are monitored. Can he ever be rich and famous again…if, indeed, those memories are not illusions.


About Sideband

Using specially designed and custom made hemispherical speakers and a fleet of laptops, mobile devices, interfaces, wireless networks, and other objects, Sideband turns each member of its ensemble in to an island of sound, returning a sense of acoustics and space to the normally flat world of electronic music.  Ranging from solos and duos to sextets and beyond, Sideband is an evolving project that inspires composers, performers and audience members to reevaluate the role of computers in music. 


Sideband is the professional touring ensemble of the Princeton Laptop Orchestra. Tonight they will be a quartet of Lainie Fefferman, Daniel Iglesia, Jascha Narveson, and Jeff Snyder. For more information, please visit


About Spirograph Agnew

Spirograph Agnew is music for 3D glasses. It is a quartet, consisting of violin, cello, double bass, and laptop. It performs structured improvisations, with software systems that turn its sound into literal and/or figurative visual representations. It is Jim Altieri (violin), Jessie Marino (cello), Bob Jones (bass), and Daniel Iglesia (laptop and video). For more information, please visit