CFA Master Class: Otto Penzler

Wednesday November 16, 2016
07:00 pm

Tags: Event






Otto Penzler—publisher, editor and proprietor of the Mysterious Bookshop—joined us for a CFA Masterclass. Penzler is editor of fourteen Vintage Crime/Black Lizard anthologies, including this year’s The Big Book of Jack the Ripper. He is Series Editor of The Best American Mystery Stories of the Year. Winner of two Edgar Awards, Penzler received the prestigious Ellery Queen Award in 1994 and the Raven award in 2003. Penzler will bring decades of experience and insight into publishing crime fiction, mystery novels, and thrillers.


About The Big Book of Jack the Ripper:

A new anthology from Edgar Award-winning editor Otto Penzler, centered around the historical enigma whose name has become synonymous with fear: Jack the Ripper.


Of all the real-life serial killers whose gruesome deeds have splashed across headlines throughout human history, few have reached the near-mythical status of Jack the Ripper. Terrorizing the world with a rash of violent murders in London’s East End in the fall of 1888, Saucy Jack seemed to vanish just as quickly, leaving future generations to speculate upon the Ripper’s identity and whereabouts—and living on in some of the most spectacularly unnerving fiction and nonfiction ever written. Collected here, for the first time ever, are 41 tales featuring the infamous slasher, from classics by Marie Belloc-Lowndes, Robert Bloch, and Ellery Queen to never-before-seen stories by contemporary masters Jeffery Deaver, Loren D. Estleman, Lyndsay Faye, and many more. Also featured in this volume are essential true-crime artifacts of Jack the Ripper lore, including genuine witness statements, autopsy reports, contemporary news articles, and astonishing theories from the world’s foremost Ripperologists—as is only proper for a case that is truly as chilling as fiction.


Otto Penzler is the proprietor of The Mysterious Bookshop in New York City, and founded The Mysterious Press in 1975, which he later sold to Warner Books (1989). He reacquired the imprint in 2010 and it now publishes original books as an imprint at Grove/Atlantic in the United States and Head of Zeus in the U.K., publishing such authors as Thomas H. Cook, Thomas Perry, Robert Olen Butler, Charles McCarry, Minette Walters, and Joyce Carol Oates, as well as classic crime fiction through in partnership with Open Road Integrated Media. He served as the host for Turner Classic Movies for its “Month of Mysteries” in 2002.


Penzler is also a prolific editor, and his most recent anthologies include The Big Book of Sherlock Holmes Stories, The Big Book of Locked Room Mysteries (both Vintage), The Best American Mystery Stories of the 19th Century and The Best American Noir of the Century with James Ellroy (both Houghton Mifflin Harcourt). Since 1997, he has been the Series Editor of The Best American Mystery Stories of the Year (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).

Penzler has won two Edgar Awards, for Encyclopedia of Mystery and Detection in 1977 and The Lineup in 2010. The Mystery Writers of America awarded him the prestigious Ellery Queen Award in 1994 and the Raven—the group's highest non-writing award—in 2003. He has been given Lifetime Achievement awards by Noircon and The Strand Magazine.