A Crime Fiction Slam

Thursday December 10, 2015
07:00 pm

Tags: Event



Part 2





We brought our Crime Fiction students center-stage as they read from the stories and novels they've worked on this fall in the Crime Fiction Academy. Workshop leaders Jonathan Santlofer and Alison Gaylin hosted an event including drinks, food, readings, and a reception with the authors. 


The Crime Fiction Academy made its debut in mid-February 2012. Students are taught by successful practitioners of the genre, and classes take place in The Center’s eight-story building at 17 E. 47th Street in Manhattan. Every writer enrolled in CFA attends a 12-week writing workshop (divided up into two six-week sessions), plus master classes with experts in the field.


Click here to find out more about the academy and our spring class schedule.


Jonathan Santlofer is the author of 5 novels, The Death Artist, Color Blind, The Killing Art, The Murder Notebook, and Anatomy of Fear, which won the Nero Wolfe Award for best crime novel of 2009. He is co-editor, contributor and illustrator of the short story anthology, The Dark End of the Street, and editor/ contributor to LA NOIRE: The Collected Stories. His short stories appear in numerous collections, including The Rich & the Dead, edited by Nelson De Mille, New Jersey Noir, edited by Joyce Carol Oates. He served as editor/contributor for Akashic Books The Marijuana Chronicles and for Touchstone’s bestselling serial novel Inherit the Dead. He serves on the boards of the Mystery Writers of America and the International Crime Writers of North America. He currently teaches Crime Fiction Writing in Pratt Institute’s Creative Writing program, and has taught at Columbia University and The New School. Santlofer is also a visual artist and is the recipient of two National Endowment for the Arts grants, has been a Visiting Artist at the American Academy In Rome, the Vermont Studio Center and serves on the board of Yaddo.


USA Today and international bestselling author Alison Gaylin received an Edgar nomination for Hide Your Eyes, and Stay With Me, and won the Shamus for And She Was—the first book in the Brenna Spector suspense series. The author of eight published crime fiction novels, Alison is currently at work on a standalone, What Remains of Me, out in 2016 from HarperCollins.