Announcing the Long List for

the 2016 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize




The Alaskan Laundry by Brendan Jones (Mariner Books)


All Joe Knight by Kevin Morris (Grove Press)

Another Place You’ve Never Been by Rebecca Kauffman (Soft Skull Press)

As Close to Us as Breathing by Elizabeth Poliner (Lee Boudreaux Books)

The Castle Cross the Magnet Carter by Kia Corthron (Seven Stories Press)

Dodgers by Bill Beverly (Crown)


Girl Through Glass by Sari Wilson (Harper)


The Girls by Emma Cline (Random House)


Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis-Benn (Liveright)


Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi (Knopf)


How I Became a North Korean by Krys Lee (Viking)


Hurt People by Cote Smith (FSG Originals)


The Lightkeepers by Abby Geni (Counterpoint)


The Longest Night by Andria Williams (Random House)


The Mirror Thief by Martin Seay (Melville House)


The Regional Office is Under Attack! by Manuel Gonzales (Riverhead Books)


Shelter by Jung Yun (Picador USA)


Stork Mountain by Miroslav Penkov (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)


Sweetgirl by Travis Mulhauser (Ecco)


Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings by Stephen O’Connor (Viking)


Tuesday Nights in 1980 by Molly Prentiss (Scout Press)


We Love You, Charlie Freeman by Kaitlyn Greenidge (Algonquin Books)


What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)


Work Like Any Other by Virginia Reeves (Scribner)


Wreck and Order by Hannah Tennant-Moore (Hogarth)



About the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize


Our First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel published between January 1 and December 31 of the award year. The author of the winning book is awarded $10,000 and each shortlisted author recieves $1,000. The winner will be announced at our Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner on Tuesday, December 6 at The Metropolitan Club.


Previous winners include Marisha Pessl, for Special Topics in Calamity Physics (Viking), Junot Díaz, for The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Riverhead/Penguin), Hannah Tinti, for The Good Thief (The Dial Press), John Pipkin, for Woodsburner (Doubleday/Nan A. Talese), Karl Marlantes, for Matterhorn (Atlantic Monthly Press with El León Literary Arts), Bonnie Nadzam, for Lamb (Other Press), Ben Fountain, for Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (Ecco/HarperCollins), Margaret Wrinkle, for Wash (Atlantic Monthly Press), Tiphanie Yanique, for Land of Love and Drowning (Riverhead Books), and Viet Thanh Nguyen, for The Sympathizer (Grove Press).