2017 Perkins Award Winner

photo by Jessica Monahan

Morgan Entrekin

CEO & Publisher

Grove Atlantic, Inc. 


The Center for Fiction is pleased to announce that Morgan Entrekin, CEO & Publisher, Grove Atlantic, Inc. is the recipient of its 2017 Maxwell E. Perkins Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Field of Fiction.  


Morgan Entrekin was born in 1955, and grew up in Nashville, Tennessee. After graduating from Stanford and the Radcliffe Publishing Course, he joined Delacorte Press in 1977, where he worked with such authors as Kurt Vonnegut, Nick Tosches and Richard Brautigan. In 1982 he moved to Simon & Schuster, where he acquired books by Alan Furst, Bret Easton Ellis, and Dr. Michael Debakey. 


In 1984, he left to start his own imprint at Atlantic Monthly Press. Over 40 titles were published under the Morgan Entrekin Books/Atlantic Monthly Press imprint, including books by P.J. O’Rourke, Rian Malan, Richard Preston, Ron Chernow, George Plimpton and Francisco Goldman. 


In 1991, Morgan acquired, with a group of investors, Atlantic Monthly Press. In 1993, he merged the company with Grove Press, publisher of Samuel Beckett, William Burroughs, Harold Pinter, Kenzaburo Oe and Tom Stoppard, among others. Entrekin is currently the CEO and Publisher of Grove Atlantic, Inc., which publishes 120 books a year ranging from general nonfiction, current affairs, history, biography, and narrative journalism to fiction, drama, and poetry.  


Morgan’s roster of authors includes: Sherman Alexie, Mark Bowden, Candace Bushnell, Robert Olen Butler, Anne Enright, Richard Flanagan, Tim Flannery, Julia Franck, Aminatta Forna, Dagoberto Gilb, Francisco Goldman, Barry Hannah, Jim Harrison, Sheri Holman, Ivan Klima, Yan Lianke, Donna Leon, Karl Marlantes, Val McDermid, Catherine Millet, PJ O’Rourke, Will Self and Michael Tolkin.    


In 2015, Morgan launched the Literary Hub, a website that features original content from over 180 partners including publishers large and small, literary journals, not-for-profits, and booksellers.




About The 

 Perkins Award


In 2005 the Center for Fiction established the Maxwell E. Perkins Award to honor the work of an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of his or her career has discovered, nurtured and championed writers of fiction in the United States. This award is dedicated to Maxwell Perkins in celebration of his legacy as one of the country’s most import editors.