Congratulations to Morgan Entrekin

Recipient of the 2017 Maxwell E. Perkins Award

Morgan Entrekin, CEO & Publisher, Grove Atlantic, Inc. is the recipient of its 2017 Maxwell E. Perkins Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Field of Fiction.  

The award was presented to Mr. Entrekin at the Center’s December 5th Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner in New York City.

Morgan Entrekin was born in 1955, and grew up in Nashville, Tennessee. After graduating from Stanford and the Radcliffe Publishing Course, he joined Delacorte Press in 1977, where he worked with such authors as Kurt Vonnegut, Nick Tosches and Richard Brautigan. In 1982 he moved to Simon & Schuster, where he acquired books by Alan Furst, Bret Easton Ellis, and Dr. Michael Debakey. 


In 1984, he left to start his own imprint at Atlantic Monthly Press. Over 40 titles were published under the Morgan Entrekin Books/Atlantic Monthly Press imprint, including books by P.J. O’Rourke, Rian Malan, Richard Preston, Ron Chernow, George Plimpton and Francisco Goldman. Read more

About the Maxwell E. Perkins Award


“...the recognizing, the encouraging, the guiding of talent—that, in his opinion, was a sacred task worth any amount of effort, of risk, of time expended.”

 — JH Wheelock on Maxwell Perkins


In 2005 the Center for Fiction established the Maxwell E. Perkins Award to honor the work of an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of his or her career has discovered, nurtured and championed writers of fiction in the United States. This award is dedicated to Maxwell Perkins in celebration of his legacy as one of the country’s most important editors.


The final selection is made by a panel of publishing professionals convened by The Center. The award is intended to provide a means by which the literary world can each year acknowledge the critical role played by agents, editors, and publishers and reward their outstanding work.




Eric Simonoff




Daniel Halpern



Nicole Aragi



Robin Desser



Past Winners



Maxwell Evarts Perkins began his career in 1907 as a reporter for the New York Times, but soon moved to a position as advertising manager at the prestigious publishing house, Charles Scribner’s Sons in New York. In 1914 an opening in the editorial department led to Perkins promotion and the beginning of his stellar career in the field of fiction. His first major discovery came five years later when a young writer by the name of F. Scott Fitzgerald started corresponding with the house. Fitzgerald’s first book This Side of Paradise heralded a shift in the style of the time, and made the young writer famous. Perkins soon rose to prominence as an editor with impeccable taste as he signed Ernest Hemingway on to the company. Thomas Wolfe rounded out Perkins’ triumvirate and became a close friend of the editor’s. Sadly Perkins was cut down by a sudden death at the age of 62, but his legacy lives on in the many books he helped shape.


F. Scott Fitzgerald

Ring Lardner
Ernest Hemingway
Thomas Wolfe
Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
James Jones