On Monday, December 8th we hosted a fun evening of cocktails, mingling, and readings from the seven finalists of the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. All proceeds went to our Books for NYC Schools/KidsRead program.



Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize 2014 Short List


The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld (Harper)


Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson (Ecco)


The Great Glass Sea by Josh Weil (Grove Press)


The Invention of Exile by Vanessa Manko (The Penguin Press)


Land of Love and Drowning by Tiphanie Yanique (Riverhead Books)


The Land of Steady Habits by Ted Thompson (Little Brown and Company)


We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas (Simon & Schuster)



Couldn't make it to the event? You can still help these great programs by donating today! 




Julie Barer (Barer Literary, LLC)

Pilar Queen (McCormick & Williams)



Katie Adams (W.W. Norton)

Claudia Ballard (WME)

Sarah Bowlin (Henry Holt)

Barry Harbaugh (HarperCollins)

Jenny Jackson (Random House)

Jenna Johnson (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Lindsey Schwoeri (Penguin)

Rebecca Strauss (DeFiore & Co)


About the

First Novel Prize


The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. The author of the winning book receives $10,000 and the other shortlisted authors receive $1,000 each. The award is given annually at The Center for Fiction's Benefit and Awards Dinner. The Prize was originally established in 2005 as the John Sargent, Sr. First Novel Prize. Since 2010, the Center’s First Novel Prize has been known as the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize, thanks to the very generous support of writer Nancy Dunnan, a member of the board of The Center for Fiction, in honor of her late father, Ray Flaherty, an Iowa writer. Ms. Dunnan passed away this year in August and, so this year the award will be given not only in honor of Ray Flaherty, but also for the first time in honor of Nancy Dunnan as well.