Thank you to everyone who attended our 2017 Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner! It was a great success, and we'll post video and photos soon for those of you who couldn't make it. We had a lovely evening with host P.J. O'Rourke and our Co-Chairs, Salman Rushdie, Jacqueline Woodson, and Wendy Gimbel. The 2017 Maxwell E. Perkins Award was given to Morgan Entrekin by Francisco Goldman, and we announced the winner of this year's First Novel Prize, Julie Lekstrom Himes for Mikhail and Margarita (Europa Editions).  







Benefit Committee


Wendy Gimbel
Salman Rushdie
Jacqueline Woodson

ABRAMS Books/Michael Jacobs

Sherman Alexie

Algonquin Books

Marisa Acocella

Amazon Literary Partnership

Audible, Inc.

Gabrielle Bamberger

Elizabeth Birkelund

BKSK Architects

Bloomsbury Publishing

Mark Bowden

Candace Bushnell

Maria and Woodrow Campbell


Coral Graphic Services

Emilie Roy Corey

Jonathan Dee

The Entrekin Family

Europa Editions

Aminatta Forna

Rivka Galchen

Wendy Gimbel and Doug Liebhafsky

Lynn Goldberg

Nan Graham

Grove/Atlantic, Inc.

Hachette Book Group

Stacey Hadash and Terry McDonell

HarperCollins Publishers

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

A.M. Homes

Ingram Content Group

International Creative Management Partners

Luke Janklow

Jessica Kaplan and Mark Fowler

Macmillan Publishers

Erroll McDonald

Celia and Henry McGee

Jay McInerney

Susan Moldow

Calvert D. and Cassie Jones Morgan

Shawn Morin

Kevin Morris

Sara Nelson

Joseph O’Neill

Penguin Random House

Publisher’s Group West

Roxana and Hamilton Robinson

Adam Schear

Simon & Schuster

Meredith and Eric Simonoff

Helen and John Simonson

Dana Spiotta

Michael Tolkin

Danielle and Andrew Truscott

Amanda Urban

Gregory Voynow

W.W. Norton & Company

Nina and Michael Zilkha


The Maxwell E. Perkins Award honors an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of their career has discovered, nutured, and championed writers of fiction. This award is dedicated to Maxwell Perkins in celebration of his legacy as one of the country’s most important editors. FIND OUT MORE


The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. The author of the winning book is awarded $10,000 and each shortlisted author receives $1,000. The shortlist and winner are chosen by a panel of five distinguished writers, including the previous year's winner of the prize.